The Story Behind TKL

Out of character discussion about anything related to The Known Lands and NWN2.

The Story Behind TKL

Postby Deider » Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:34 pm

I started "seriously" roleplaying in high school - some neighborhood kids and I experimented with 2nd Edition AD&D, Mechwarrior, and Marvel Superheroes. While I enjoyed the latter two, I became hooked on AD&D, to the extent that I acquired and read almost every resource TSR published when I was a high school student.

When I went to college in 1997, I joined a fantasy and science fiction club, and through that club I met a handful of people like me. By "people like me" I mean "guys who would rather spend their weekends playing D&D and Magic: the Gathering than troll frat houses and bars trying to find women to have casual sex with." Yes, I know - what were we thinking!? :wink:

Anyway, we gamers managed to play the same campaign for four years, run by a great DM. (During that time I met two crack addicts known here as brockfanning and liephus.) That campaign, and lessons learned from it, inspired me to develop my own D&D setting. This took up most of my senior year; somehow I also managed to crank out something called a "thesis" and graduate.

I spent my first year of graduate school looking for a roleplay group without luck - until I stumbled upon a bunch of grad students playing D&D in my own department's lounge! They were DMed by a PhD student and former Speedo model known here as Lasher. I joined the group, and soon after Lasher let me know that he was looking for someone to take over as DM so he could be a player again. I pulled out the setting I'd developed in college and told him I'd give it a shot.